Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Club Statement 23:42 - Mar 12 with 617 viewsmfb_cufc

Colchester United Chairman Robbie Cowling has issued the following statement.

Following yet another postponement, I would like to provide some information as to why so many games have been postponed this season and what the club are doing to improve the pitch so that we can fulfil our remaining home fixtures.

Before I do so, I would like to apologise for those games where we provided very late notice of the postponement. Our focus was solely on getting those games played and we have now implemented a better process whereby we still do our best to fix the problem, but we do better to manage it too.

I’m no drainage expert but the pitch at our stadium has never been great in terms of the drainage. I’m sure many of you will remember the problems we had in the initial few seasons when we first moved to the stadium and that was when the pitch had been freshly laid and the drainage system was brand new. The pitch I own at Maldon gets nowhere near the same amount of TLC but drains brilliantly. Layer Road was similar.

The pitch at the stadium sits on a bed of clay and our recent investigations show that the clay bed is just some 10 inches below the surface. That shouldn’t be an issue if the pitch has a well designed and installed drainage system which is working optimally, whilst only being subjected to reasonable amounts of rainfall.

In terms of the pitch maintenance, we use one of the best companies available to us to prepare the pitch at the start of every season. We also have an excellent team of ground staff who work tirelessly to maintain our pitches to the highest standard they can. I say pitches because compared to the days when we only had the excellent pitch at Layer Road to maintain, the ground staff currently look after seven pitches in total.